What is a pork shoulder?

Pork shoulder is a somewhat tough cut of meat layered with fat. The relatively inexpensive cut comes from the pig’s shoulder region. While often labeled as pork butt, it is actually shoulder meat. Pork shoulder is sold bone-in or boneless, and can weigh between five and 10 pounds.