How long do you cook a roux?

The time needed to cook a Roux is dependent on what color roux you need. Three minutes is fine for a light roux used for thickening a sauce. A dark roux could take 20 plus minutes. A dark roux will have a rich and nutty flavor but does not thicken sauces as well. E.g., Gumbo roux is dark.