What was the name of hopalong cassidy's horse?

Hopalong Cassidy, played by William Boyd, had a horse named Topper. The story is that Boyd's wife, Grace Bradley Boyd, selected the horse's name because she liked the TOPPER books and films that were authored by Thorne Smith.