What is the definition of a fruit versus a vegetable?

Fruits are the ovaries of a plant, they contain and disperse seeds. Vegetables are the edible parts of plants such as leaves and stalks. Odd examples are tomatoes and pea pods which are fruits commonly mistaken for vegetables.