What are cockroaches attracted to?

Cockroaches are attracted to food that has been left out on the counter, dirty dishes in the sink, and crumbs laying on the floor. They are also attracted to moisture, such as from a leaky pipe underneath a sink or a wet bathmat on the floor. Unlike other insects, cockroaches are a problem all year.