What are the odds of a nuclear war?

Many experts have tried to calculate this. A rough average of their estimates puts the chances of a nuclear war at about 1% per year. That sounds safe enough, but it also means that given enough time, a nuclear war is a near certainty; the probability of war within one lifetime is over 50%