Who is america's most notorious serial killer?

Four in 10 (41%) adults named Ted Bundy—the serial killer and rapist who confessed to 28 murders—making Bundy the most notorious serial killer in America by that metric. Jeffrey Dahmer, a serial killer known for cannibalism in Milwaukee, was mentioned by one in five (21%) adults.