When was the canon opener invented?

On January 5, 1858, Waterbury, Connecticut native Ezra J. Warner invented the first US can opener. The idea of storing food in cans dates back almost 50 years earlier when Peter Durand of England patented a can made of wrought iron with a tin lining.