Why do chihuahuas tremble?

One of the most common reasons why Chihuahuas shake and shiver is simply because they are cold. And, like many other small dogs, Chihuahuas tend to shake when they are anxious or frightened, or when they are really excited. It could even be allergies or hypoglycemia.