Why do they call boston beantown?

Early trade in Boston focused on distilling rum. One of the things you need a lot of to distill rum is molasses. They added it to beans and baked it. Natives had long been using maple syrup. It caught on and merchant sailors enjoyed them. They're pretty good on toast.