What is a c. major seven chord?

A major chord contains the root note, the third and the fifth. In the C major scale, the root is C, the third is E and the fifth is G. A seventh chord adds the seventh, which in the C major scale is B. So a C Major 7th chord is the notes C, E, G, and B.