What kind of music does the star wars cantina band play?

The cantina band seen in "Star Wars: Episode IV - A New Hope," Figrin D'an and the Modal Nodes, plays a style of music similar to what we know as "jazz" from the 1930s and 40s but with certain differences in structure and instrumentation (and with an I in place of the A).