What is white pepper used for?

White pepper is often used in dishes that need a peppery bite but where you don't want black flecks, such as in white sauces and potato dishes. In Chinese cuisine, ground white pepper is used to add flavor to soups, marinades for meat and poultry, and spicier stir-fries.