How many days does it take for a chicken to lay an egg?

A hen can lay only one egg in a day and will have some days when it does not lay an egg at all. The reasons for this laying schedule relate to the hen reproductive system. A hen's body begins forming an egg shortly after the previous egg is laid, and it takes 26 hours for an egg to form fully.