Why did the u. s. go to the vietnam war?

China had become communist in 1949 and communists were in control of North Vietnam. The USA was afraid that communism would spread to South Vietnam and all Asia. It decided to send money, supplies and military advisers to help the South Vietnamese Government. It went from conflict to a war.