How many people fought in the vietnam war?

Estimating the number of people who fought in the war is difficult to determine factually. It was a 20-year conflict with combatants and non-combatants from both sides representing at least 16 countries. From the US alone, approximately 2,700,000 men and women served in Vietnam.