How long is the internet been around?

The Internet was created on January 1, 1983.

---

The origins of the Internet date back to research commissioned by the United States Department of Defense in the 1960s. The linking of commercial networks and enterprises by the early 1990s marked the beginning of the transition to the modern Internet