How long does it take asphalt to dry?

Asphalt takes six to twelve months to fully cure, and remains a little more susceptible to damage for that time. However, it takes 48 to 72 hours to "dry" enough for foot and vehicle traffic. This is for new asphalt. Resurfaced asphalt can be dry in as soon as a few hours.