Tell me about the riptides in north carolina?

Rip tides form as a result of waves travelling from deep to shallow water and breaking near shore. When waves break strongly in one area and weakly in another, a circulation forms from the water rushing back to the ocean. If you encounter one, swim parallel to shoreline then slowly toward shore.