Why do people say bless you after sneeze?

Sneezing was a sign of falling ill with the Roman Plague. The Pope ordered blessings for sneezers. Some believe the heart stops or that the soul is thrown from the body when sneezing thus leaving the body open to invasion by evil spirits. Blessings protects the soul or encourage the heart.