What is curly koa?

Koa is a hardwood that is particularly crush resistant and absorbs shocks well. It is commonly used in the manufacture of musical instruments, in particular guitars. Curly koa is a variant of koa that has a particularly figured grain pattern making it quite attractive for furniture and instruments