What happened to darth vader?

At the the end of Return of The Jedi, Vader has a change of heart. He attacks his master The Emperor, throwing him down a conduit. Vader's mask is removed, and he becomes Anakin Skywalker once again. He then thanks his son, Luke Skywalker, for turning him away from the Dark Side.