What are shadow pokemon?

Shadow Pokémon are stronger than regular Pokémon and have many mysterious traits, such as not being able to level up until purified. In PTD, however, the only difference between shadow and regular Pokémon is that Shadow Pokémon can learn Shadow-type moves.