How do you tell when a pie is done?

For fruit pie, the top crust will be golden brown, and you’ll be able to see filling bubbling around the edges and/or through the vents. let the filling bubble for at least 5 minutes before removing the pie from the oven. A toothpick inserted thru a vent should go into the fruit with no resistance.