What is a pad of butter?

There is no such thing as a pad of butter. If someone uses that term in their recipe, what they really mean is a “pat” of butter. Saying a “pad” of butter is a mistaken word used in place of a correct word that sounds a lot like the correct word. A pat is typically one teaspoon to one tablespoon.