What's the recipe for an old-fashioned?

Muddle a sugar cube and bitters with one bar spoon of water at the bottom of a chilled lowball glass. If using simple syrup, combine bitters and one bar spoon of syrup. Add rye or bourbon, one large ice cube, and three or four smaller cubes. Stir until chilled and properly diluted, about 30 seconds.

---

Place sugar cube in old fashioned glass and saturate with bitters, add a dash of plain water. Muddle until dissolved. Fill the glass with ice cubes and add whiskey. Garnish with orange slice, and a cocktail cherry.