What does c. h. a. r. l. e. n. a. g. n. e. spell?

C H A R L E M A G N E spells Charlemagne, AKA Charles the Great or Charles 1st, born 4/2/748 & died 1/28/814. He was King of the Franks from 768, King of the Lombards from 774, & Roman Emperor from 800. During the Early Middle Ages, he united the majority of western &central Europe. Wikipedia