How do you thaw a fifteen pound turkey?

According to Butterball, a 15 pound turkey should be thawed in the refrigerator breast side up, for 4 days. Cold water thawing calls for 30 minutes per pound, changing the water and rotating the turkey every half hour.

---

Thawing in the refrigerator is the ONLY recommended way to defrost a frozen turkey. A large turkey, say, 15 to 20 pounds, will need to spend 4 to 5 days in the refrigerator. 24 hours for every 4 to 5 pounds.