How many bones are in a twelve year-old's body?

A baby's body has about 300 bones at birth. These eventually fuse (grow together) to form the 206 bones that adults have. At the age of 12, children can have about 220 bones since cartilage in some joints and the tailbone will fuse into bone later in puberty.