Was john henry a real man?

History and historians say yes, he was real. He was a real, African-American man who was uncommonly large for his time and worked for the railroads.

---

Historians are divided on whether or not the legend of John Henry is based on the life of a real person. There is some evidence on both sides of the argument, but nothing definitive.