Where do guinea pigs come from?

The Guinea pig also known as the cavy, despite its common name is not native to Guinea. They originated in the Andes of South America. There are indications that the original human inhabitants of Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia and the Andes began to domesticate these wild animals around 5000 BCE.