What is the difference between flush mount and close mount?

Both flush mount and close mount ceiling fans are installed so that the body of the fan sits flush against or hugs the ceiling. The alternative is a downrod ceiling fan, which is attached to the ceiling through a metal tube called the downrod, which is how that style of installation gets its name.