What's the difference between dry wine and sweet wine?

Dry wine has more of a tart or bitter taste, as the fruit's natural sugar has all been converted to alcohol during the fermentation process. Sweet wine still has some of the fruit's natural sugars and has a sweeter taste, higher sugar content, and usually a slightly lower alcohol percentage.