When did lift every voice and sing become the black national anthem?

The song "Lift Every Voice and Sing" was written by James Weldon Johnson and his brother J Rosamond Johnson for Abraham Lincoln's birthday anniversary in 1900, and was given the title of National Anthem by the N double A C P in 1919