What was the population of boston in seventeen seventy six?

At time of nation’s independence total population in U.S. was 2.5 million. Philadelphia was largest city with 40,000 residents. In 1776, next largest cities were NewYorkCity(25,000 people), Boston(15,000), Charleston(12,000). Rough estimates as U.S. Census didn't begin until 1790. Per N A R.Realitor