How long do baby hummingbirds stay in the nest?

Chicks leave the nest when they're ready to, usually after about 3 weeks, depending on the weather. Mom will help her fledglings a few days after they take off, showing them where to catch bugs and find nectar, before she chases them off to live on their own.