How do cheese work?

Cheese is made the same way — by curdling milk — except the milk is curdled on purpose. Most cheese is made in factories. After milk is poured into big vats, a “starter culture” of bacteria is added to convert the lactose into lactic acid. Then an enzyme called rennet is added to curdle the milk.