What's the deepest hole in the earth?

In 1970, Soviet geologists dug the "Kola Superdeep Borehole" located over the Kola Peninsula, which is just 9 inches in diameter, but 40,230 feet (12,262 meters) deep, it reigns as the deepest hole.