What is a substitute for one cup of buttermilk?

2 tablespoons of lemon juice or white vinegar added to regular milk to equal one cup. Stir and let sit for at least twenty minutes until it curtles.

---

Buttermilk can be substituted with regular milk or yogurt. Take one cup of regular milk and add 1 tablespoon of white vinegar, stir and let sit for 5 minutes, this will create buttermilk. Yogurt can be used if marinating meat.