What is a cat scan?

A CAT or CT (computer tomography) scan uses x-rays and a computer to generate an internal view of your body. It results in more detail than regular x-rays.

---

The letters C A T stand for Computer Aided Tomography. It yields a series of two dimensional views of an object or a portion of the body that can be digitally stacked together to present a sort of three dimensional view helpful in internal medical diagnosis.