Who is the red train in thomas the train?

James the Red Engine is a fictional locomotive from The Railway Series children's books by the Reverend Awdry and the spin-off TV series Thomas & Friends. He is a mixed-traffic engine, which means he is just as capable of pulling coaches as trucks.