What's the difference between crushed tomatoes and tomato sauce?

Crushed tomatoes are minimally cooked, leaving them with the fresh flavor they achieved on the vine. They are sometimes processed with a bit of salt, garlic or basil, but mostly, the flavors are left alone. Since tomato sauce is cooked longer, the tomato flavor is less fresh and more subdued.

---

Crushed tomatoes are crushed, bit still have some small.chumls of tomato, while tomato sauce is blended so it has a smooth consistency.