How do you thaw a frozen ham?

Put the frozen ham in a rimmed pan or on a baking sheet to catch any drips that occur during the thawing process. Place the ham in its container on the lowest shelf of your fridge. Thawing ham in the fridge takes about 4 to 6 hours per 1 pound (0.45 kg).