Is a beagle a hound?

Yes beagles are hounds. Beagles are separated by size - 13 inches and under and 13 to 15 inches. Both sizes of beagle are shown in the hound group at AKC shows. Beagles are scent hounds developed to help hunters track and catch rabbits and hares.