Why are hamburgers called hamburgers?

Hamburger is a shorthand name for "hamburger steak," a patty made of ground beef, originally from Hamburg, Germany.

---

The hamburgers get their name from the city Hamburg, Germany. It has nothing to do with ham Hamburg is well known for it’s cut of beef called the Hamburg steak.