Why are hamburgers called hamburgers?

The hamburgers get their name from the city Hamburg, Germany. It has nothing to do with ham Hamburg is well known for it’s cut of beef called the Hamburg steak.

---

Hamburger is a shorthand name for "hamburger steak," a patty made of ground beef, originally from Hamburg, Germany.