Why is there always a star next to the moon?

As the Moon makes its regular orbital journey around the sky, it sometimes appears close to a particularly bright “star”. Often these stars are not stars at all but planets. Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn can all appear close to the Moon.