What makes things sour?

Sourness is a taste that detects acidity. These taste buds detect hydrogen ions from organic acids found in foods. Sour sanding and malic acid are often used in sour candies to bring the taste.

---

The sour taste of foods and beverages is largely due to organic acids, including acetic, citric, malic, and fumaric acids in fruits and vegetables and tartaric acid in wine. Dilute solutions of many inorganic acids also taste sour.