Why do dogs turn in circles before they lay down?

Turning in circles before lying down is an act of self-preservation in that the dog may innately know that he needs to position himself in a certain way to ward off an attack. Even though they aren’t subject to attack by wild animals, our canine friends retained their evolutionary protective trait.