Is gelatin a liquid or a solid?

Its a solid, in that it retains it shape, despite the elasticity of the medium. Thats the gelatin Its also a liquid, that’s suspended in a matrix of gelatin, much like a wet sponge is both a liquid and a solid. Gelatin is just less porous than a sponge.