How do tornadoes come?

Most tornadoes form from thunderstorms. You need warm, moist air from the Gulf of Mexico and cool, dry air from Canada. When these two air masses meet, they create instability in the atmosphere. ... Rising air within the updraft tilts the rotating air from horizontal to vertical.